Company / Leadership / Board of Directors

Click below for details

Ross J. Beaty – Chairman

Mr. Beaty is a geologist and resource company entrepreneur with more than 40 years of experience in the international minerals industry. He founded and currently serves as Chairman of Pan American Silver Corp., one of the world’s largest silver producers, and Alterra Power Corp., a wind, hydro and geothermal power producer, and has also founded and divested a number of other public mineral resource companies since 1985, including Northern Peru Copper and Global Copper Corp.  Mr. Beaty is also President of the Sitka Foundation, one of Canada’s leading environmental foundations, patron of the Beaty Biodiversity Center at the University of B.C. and Director of The Nature Trust, B.C.’s pre-eminent land conservancy.

Mr. Beaty is a past President of the Silver Institute, a Fellow of the Geological Association of Canada and the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum, and a recipient of the Institute’s Past President Memorial Medal. In 2007 Mr. Beaty received the Association of Mineral Exploration of B.C.’s Colin Spence Award for excellence in global mineral exploration, in 2008 the Mining Person of the Year award from the Mining Association of B.C. and the 2008 Natural Resources & Energy Entrepreneur of the Year Award by Ernst & Young. In 2010, Mr. Beaty was awarded the prestigious Viola MacMillan Award by the Prospector and Developers Association of Canada and was selected as Mining Person of the Year for 2011 by Canada’s Northern Miner newspaper. In 2014 Mr. Beaty received the CIM’s Vale Medal for Meritorious Contribution to Mining.

Mr. Beaty was born in Vancouver, Canada and educated at the Royal School of Mines, University of London, England, M.Sc., Distinction (Mineral Exploration) 1975 and the University of British Columbia, LL.B. (Law) 1979 and B.Sc. (Honours Geology) 1974.


Geoff Burns – Director and President & CEO

Mr. Burns has over 25 years of experience in the precious metals mining industry. He joined Pan American in 2003 after serving as Senior Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer of Coeur d’Alene

Mines Corp. Mr. Burns holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Geology and a Masters of Business Administration. A great deal of Mr. Burns’ professional activities has concentrated on financial management and he has led numerous capital market transactions, including equity, debt and convertible debt placements. In addition, he has extensive experience through North and South America in mine operations, project development , human resources, and long term strategic planning. He has participated in numerous mine construction projects from feasibility study, through start-up and into continuous operation. Mr. Burns has been Chief Executive Officer of the Company since May 2004.


Michael Carroll

Michael joined Pan American’s Board of Directors in January 2011. He is a Certified Public Accountant with over 30 years of financial management expertise, primarily with publicly traded mining companies including Homestake Mining Company, Bond International Gold, and Cumberland Resources Ltd. His professional expertise includes equity and debt-financing, mergers and acquisitions, strategic planning, GAAP, international tax planning, and regulatory reporting. Most recently, he served as Chairman of the Audit Committee and designated financial expert of Centenario Copper Corporation.


Noel Dunn

Mr. Christopher Noel Dunn was appointed to the Board of Directors in late 2011. Mr. Dunn has over 25 years’ experience in the investment banking industry, having worked as a Managing Director in London for Goldman Sachs, as well as having been a Senior Managing Director and Head of Global Mining and Metals for Bear Stearns. He is currently Managing Director of Liberty Metals & Mining, part of Liberty Mutual Group Asset Management Inc., which is focused on private equity type investments in natural resources.


Neil de Gelder

Mr. de Gelder was appointed to Pan American’s Board of Directors in mid-2012. He has over 25 years’ experience as a lawyer specializing in corporate, M&A and financing matters with a major Canadian law firm. He has been the Executive Director of the British Columbia Securities Commission, and is currently Executive Vice-President of Stern Partners, a private diversified investment firm based in Vancouver. Mr. deGelder has served on a wide variety of corporate, crown, charitable and community boards over the years.


Robert Pirooz – General Counsel

Mr. Pirooz first joined Pan American Silver Corp. in 1998 and is currently General Counsel. His extensive legal and business experience includes the role of
Vice-President and General Counsel for the BCR Group of Companies. Mr. Pirooz was called to the British Columbia Bar in 1990 after obtaining a Bachelor of Law degree from the University of British Columbia and studying commerce at Dalhousie.


David Press

Mr. Press is a mining engineer with almost 40 years of diversified experience in the mining industry. He has worked in underground and open pit mines across Canada as well as in the United States and Australia.
While with Homestake Mining Company he held the position of Director, Mine Engineering and Development. In that capacity he provided technical support to all Homestake operations as well as leading the evaluation and investigation efforts for potential acquisitions on a world-wide basis. Mr. Press graduated from Nottingham University with an honours degree in mining engineering in 1967.


Walter T. Segsworth

Walter Segsworth holds a BSc in Mining Engineering from Michigan Tech. He has over 38 years of experience in mining in Canada and overseas. Mr. Segsworth has served on the Boards of Directors of several mining companies including Westmin Resources, where he was President and CEO and Homestake Mining Company, where he was President and COO. He is currently Chairman of the Board of Alterra Power Corporation and also serves as Director of Great Basin Gold. Mr. Segsworth is past Chairman of both the Mining Associations of BC and Canada and was named BC’s Mining Person of the year in 1996.